Das Schloss

The Castle


Based on the novel by Franz Kafka
A Winter Journey by NOVOFLOT

For Das Schloss, Novoflot moved into the Haus der Berliner Festspiele with texts by Kafka, songs by Franz Schubert, new compositions by Aleksandra Gryka, trombone improvisations by Nils Wogram and live drawings by Ulrich Scheel. In an experimental sound arrangement, Novoflot subtitled Kafka's novel with songs from Schubert's song cycle Winterreise and designed a master plan of the castle that looked suspiciously similar to the corridors of the brain. But the synapse labyrinth was no good as a map in the orienteering race around the human: This landscape had yet to be surveyed. And so a new, final journey began with the jazz trombonist Nils Wogram. The castle opened its doors. And the K-points connected to the line. To the line of flight.

Ensemble © Thomas Aurin
Ensemble, Nils Wogram
Ensemble, Nils Wogram © Thomas Aurin
Ensemble © Thomas Aurin
Frieda Grimm, Ensemble
Frieda Grimm, Ensemble © Thomas Aurin
Ensemble, Hanna Dóra Sturludóttir
Ensemble, Hanna Dóra Sturludóttir © Thomas Aurin
Ensemble © Thomas Aurin
Ensemble Mosaik, Yuka Yanagihara, Hanna Dóra Sturludóttir, Hans-Peter Scheidegger
Ensemble Mosaik, Yuka Yanagihara, Hanna Dóra Sturludóttir, Hans-Peter Scheidegger © Thomas Aurin
Lilly Janz, Yuka Yanagihara, Tara Bacia
Lilly Janz, Yuka Yanagihara, Tara Bacia © Thomas Aurin
Yuka Yanagihara
Yuka Yanagihara © Thomas Aurin
More about     Cast

17 January 2013
Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Novoflot as guest at Haus der Berliner Festspiele.
Funded by Regierender Bürgermeister von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten, Fonds Darstellende Künste, the Adam Mickiewicz Institute Poland and the Rudolf Augstein foundation.

Aleksandra Gryka, Franz Schubert

Hans-Peter Scheidegger K.
Hanna Dóra Sturludóttir K.
Yuka Yanagihara K.
Tara Bacia Schauspiel
Maxime Barbasetti Actor
Frieda Grimm Actor
Marian Hövelmann Actor
Lilly Janz Actor
Francisco Larrañaga Actor
Moritz Scheffer Actor
Gwenael und Gwendoline Le Leuch Actor

Members of the Knabenchor Berlin

Ensemble Mosaik:
Christian Vogel Clarinet
Roland Neffe Percussion
Ernst Surberg Piano
Mathis Mayr Violoncello
Ines Hu & Chatschatur Kanajan Violin
Saori Tomidokoro Piano


Sven Holm Direction
Vicente Larrañaga Musical direction
Elisa Limberg Stage and costume design
Fadrina Arpagaus Dramaturgy
Ines Hu Artistic collaboration
Nils Wogram Trombone improvisations
Ulrich Scheel Live drawings
Jörg Bittner Lighting design
Dörte Wolter Production management
Achim Klapp Press and public relations

Ignacio Busch Assistant to the director and stage management Margarita Angelova & Paraskevi Kartsioti ­Direction trainee Jenny Ribbat Stage management Saori Tomidokoro Accompanist Anke Gänz ­Assistant to the stage and costume designer Denise Majer ­Trainee stage and costume design Stella Schadow Make-up Emanuel Tschumi Graphic design Thomas Aurin Photography Philip Kießling Documentation