New Project

The Theory of Harmony Act 1 – Act 5

9, 10 and 11 December 2022

by Novoflot and Arnold Schönberg

In 2022, Novoflot begins the celebrations for a special kind of anniversary: 70 years after his death, the rights to Arnold Schönberg's work become free. What does that mean? Now it belongs to all of us! A wonderful reason to do several things at once.

First of all, to roll out the red carpet for a roaring anniversary celebration in Berlin's Kronprinzenpalais.

Secondly, to move the works of the Viennese composer from the strip parquet to the black ice, for a few grandiose double Rittbergers in the mirrored crab canon.

And thirdly, on the occasion of the now prevailing freedom of rights of "Transfigured Night", "Pierrot Lunaire" and so forth, to ask about the nature of freedom of rights and thus about the splendor and misery of intellectual property. Too much of a good thing? Maybe! But the number of such projects would not have even made the Viennese sound systemist and author of “The Theory of Harmony" raise his eyebrow. His longing to flood all future music with air from other planets was too strong.

This is now also true for the artists of Novoflot, who, where the cultural heritage still hangs neatly within the frame almost everywhere (Unter den Linden!), reorder some too familiar twelve-tone rows and premiere them immediately! In the most beautiful clash of Jacob's Ladders, Hanging Gardens and Foliage of the Heart, they are looking for encouraging and promising possibilities of art production in times of violent disharmony.

Will they find what they are looking for? It's in the stars. You can only wish them one thing: an extremely good “…Hand of Fate”.

Tickets are available here.

More about     Cast

Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa Berlin.

with: Magne-Håvard Brekke acting Rosemary Hardy vocals Ichi Go dance, vocals Altea Garrido dance, choreography Thomas Stache dance, choreography

Conny Bauer trombone Nils Wogram trombone

Antonis Anissegos piano Jacopo Salvatori piano

Ensemble Dissonart: Jannis Anissegos flute Alexandros Stavridis clarinet Lenio Liatsou piano Kostas Argyropoulos percussion Theodoros Patsalidis violin Maria Anissegos violoncello

Danish National Youth Ensemble DUEN Direction: Morten Ryelund
Nicole Bronder, Tina Dalgaard, Carl Ryelund, Stefan Enemærke Becker, Borbála Brezovsky, Sarah Junghanns violin
Katie Le Feuvre, Carmen de la Torre Jiménez, Thorhildur Magnusdottir viola
Benedikte Dalgas, Anna Rebekka Ross violoncello
Lars-Bo Hermansen double bass Harald Tørning Svendsen bassoon

Direction and concept: Sven Holm Musical director: Vicente Larranaga Stage and costumes: Nina von Mechow Dramaturgy and concept: Malte Ubenauf Company management and production: Dörte Wolter Production: Sophie Beck Tour Management: Tina Agency Communication: k3 berlin